The 1,000-year-old Boy

The 1,000-year-old Boy

The 1,000-year-old Boy
Ross Welford

HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks

ISBN 9780008256944

The astonishing, beautiful new story for all readers of 10 and over from the bestselling and Costa-shortlisted author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER.

There are stories about people who want to live forever. This is not one of those stories. This is a story about someone who wants to stop.

Alfie Monk is like any other nearly teenage boy - except he's 1,000 years old and can remember the last Viking invasion of England.

Obviously no one believes him. So when everything Alfie knows and loves is destroyed in a fire, and the modern world comes crashing in, Alfie embarks on a mission to find friendship, acceptance, and a different way to live...which means finding a way to make sure he will eventually die.

Librarian's Book choice

Alfie wants to be like any other 11 year old, which is a bit tricky when he's actually over a thousand years old. He longs for a friend, but knows the only way he and his mother can stay where they are is to keep themselves to themselves.

When Roxy and Aidan come crashing into their lives, and a fire destroys their home, Alfie knows the time has come to live a different life. But, there is only one way to do that, and for all his years on earth, time is now running out.

Bittersweet, heartwarming and life affirming, Ross Welford has created a wonderful story celebrating friendship, trust and hope, while blending modern living with history. Told from two different perspectives, Alfie and Aidan's stories are woven together seamlessly and it's clear to see how the three main characters use their different strengths to cement their friendship and support each other.

Thank you Ross for yet another thoughtful, compelling, moving read - that made me both laugh and cry - especially the moment in the story when the cinema in my head started playing Queen, Who Wants To Live Forever.

Great for fans of Charlie & Me, The Ethan I Could Have Been and Fishboy. And, if you haven't read Ross Welford's other books, they are well worth it too.

400 pages / Ages 9+ / Reviewed by Nicki Cleveland, school librarian.


Reviews