I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun
Jandy Nelson

Walker Books Ltd

ISBN 9781406326499

"This is the big one - the BLAZING story of once inseparable twins whose lives are torn apart by tragedy." Entertainment Weekly Winner of the Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature From the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Every-where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

Librarian's Book choice


Reviews

I'll Give You the Sun4/5

I'll Give You the Sun

Jandy Nelson

Review

This is the story of a tragic period in the lives of teenage, American twins, Jude and Noah. It is about art, first love, jealousy, family and maybe, above all, about the relationship between the twins. The story is told alternately by Noah and Jude. Noah is an introverted 13 year old, his mother's favourite, who is frightened of the surfing Jude and their father enjoy so much. A talented artist, determined to win a place at a prestigious art school. his world changes when he falls in love with Brian, the boy next door. Though also an artist, risk-taking Jude is popular and starting to discover boys. They are very close. Jude's narrative starts when she is 16. She has drastically changed and the twins’ relationship seems to have completely broken down. She is a student at the school which Noah seemed destined to attend, studying under the tutorship of a famous sculptor. She talks to her dead Grandmother and is obviously guilt ridden by what has happened in the intervening years. Noah is now popular, party going and, most importantly of all, no longer engaged with art. As the narrative alternates, the reader is able to "fill the gaps" and learn the cause of this massive change. This could be confusing but it is also intriguing - readers will have to persist to enjoy and understand, but it is very much worth the effort. The language is, at times, overly extravagant and there is some occasional bad language. The ending is perhaps too “fairy-tale” and not all the characters are believable. Overall though, this is a compelling read which should appeal to 13+ readers, particularly fans of John Green and similar. 412 pages / Ages 13+ / Reviewed by Karen Poolton, college librarian

Reviewed by: Karen Poolton


I'll Give You the Sun5/5

I'll Give You the Sun

Jandy Nelson

Review

Jude and her twin brother Noah are close until a tragedy drives them apart. Now they are barely speaking - and both falling for boys they can't have. Love's complicated. In a passionate, sweeping novel Jandy Nelson explores love in a variety of forms with an intensity that makes the characters, particularly the twins at the centre of the story, leap off the page. Art and its creation, the relationship between the artist and his or her work, are at the centre of the book. Whilst the twins are both talented and encouraged by their mother to apply for art college, it is Noah who she recognises as having a unique gift. Feeling she is overlooked and ignored, Jude commits a terrible act of betrayal, the consequences of which are compounded by an accident which changes their family forever. The story unfolds over a three year period with Jude's sections of the story written as a 16 year old whilst Noah's covers the events of their lives at 13 to 14. The full picture, the links between characters and the secrets they hide, is only gradually revealed, as would the form emerging from the block of stone as the sculptor works on it or as the artist lays down paint on the canvas. Suffused with colour and emotion, lightened by humour, this study of love - romantic, familial, friendship - is ultimately about acceptance, forgiveness and being true to oneself. Highly recommended for readers of 14+. 432 pages / Ages 14+ / Reviewed by Jayne Gould, librarian.

Reviewed by: Jayne Gould