Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines
Katy Cannon

Stripes Publishing

ISBN 9781847155146

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines is the companion novel to Katy Cannon's delicious teen read, Love, Lies and Lemon Pies. Grace had a plan for this year - and it didn't involve learning to sew. But when her world is turned upside down by a family secret, everything changes. Grace's family is in need of patching up and she's trying to focus on what really matters. But when new boy Connor appears on the scene, it doesn't make things any easier. She's desperate to prove to him that she's not a drama queen - but why is what Connor thinks so important? Katy Cannon is a hot new voice in Young Adult fiction, writing contemporary romance that is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Louise Rennison. Praise for Love, Lies and Lemon Pies: "A delightful, delicious and feather-light romance that still manages to deal beautifully with some deep issues." Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

Librarian's Book choice


Reviews

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines3/5

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines

Katy Cannon

Review

A typical school romance story; new boy to the school meets girl, they don't like each other to start with but all that changes as the story develops. The story takes place around the preparations for a school production where Grace, the main female character, is the wardrobe mistress and each chapter starts with instructions for a sewing project for an item that then appears in the chapter. There are some typical young teenage issues related to young love and family and friend relationships touched on in the book but not in a heavy manner.

Reviewed by: Mrs Armstrong-Harris


Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines5/5

Secrets, Schemes and Sewing Machines

Katy Cannon

A girl that develops an interest in sewing

Review

I really liked this book; it's a bit boring at the beginning but after the first chapter I got into the plot. I especially liked the way that the chapters were split up by the things she had sewn.

Reviewed by: Amber