NEW TITLES

We're looking for teachers and school librarians to read and review the following secondary titles for us over the summer hols. Let us know which book you'd like to review by emailing the title and your postal details to info@ReadingZone.com. We will hold a draw for reviewers in mid July and will contact reviewers then - so do give us your holiday details if you are not going to be at school!

All The Things That Could Go Wrong
Stewart Foster

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

ISBN 9781471145421

Dan is angry. Nothing has been the same since his big brother left, and he's taking it out on the nearest and weakest target: Alex. Alex is struggling. His severe OCD makes it hard for him to leave the house, especially when Dan and his gang are waiting for him at school... Then the boys' mums arrange for them to meet up and finish building the raft that Dan started with his brother. Two enemies stuck together for the whole of the school holidays - what could possibly go wrong?

All The Things That Could Go Wrong
The City of Secret Rivers
Jacob Sager Weinstein

Walker Books Ltd

ISBN 9781406368857

An exciting subterranean London adventure, the first in a trilogy. Hyacinth Hayward has recently arrived from America and is having difficulty adjusting to her new surroundings, especially being in the sole company of her eccentric mother. Everything feels strange. Very strange. And it gets stranger the day she accidentally unleashes the power of a secret river running through London. To prevent a second Great Fire, Hyacinth needs to retrieve a single, magically charged drop of water from somewhere in the city sewer system...

The City of Secret Rivers
Escape from Hotel Infinity
Kjartan Poskitt

QED Publishing

ISBN 9781784938512

One of four books in the 'Maths Quest' series we'd like included in your review. In each book, children aged 9-12 years are challenged to use their maths skills (numbers, geometry, statistics and measurements) to solve a puzzle and escape! In this adventure, seeking shelter from a storm, your troubles have only multiplied... Can you get to grip with numbers and Escape from Hotel Infinity? Readers must use problem-solving skills and mathematical knowledge to help save the day! Finding the answers enables them to advance through the story, learning more about maths with every step they take. Clues are dotted along the way, and wrong turns will direct readers towards the right answer. Others in the series include Attack on Circuit City, Lost in the Fourth Dimension and The Island of Tomorrow. (Our reviewers will receive all four titles, to cover in a single review).

Escape from Hotel Infinity
The Boy With One Name
J. R. Wallis

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

ISBN 9781471157929

Twelve-year-old Jones is an orphan, training as an apprentice hunter alongside his mentor, Maitland, tackling ogres, trolls and all manner of creatures that live in the Badlands - a hidden part of our own world, and which most people think exist only in fairytales and nightmares. But all Jones secretly wants to be is an ordinary boy and to leave the magical world forever... When an ogre hunt goes wrong and Maitland is killed, Jones finally has a chance to find out where he came from. But the truth he uncovers isn't what he's expecting and it seems that if Jones is going to make his dream come true he'll have to defeat a creature not even Maitland had dared take on and he won't be able to do it alone... He's going to need help from Ruby, the first girl he's ever met. She's outspoken, fearless and determined to prove she's as good as any boy, and unlike Jones, being ordinary is the last thing on her mind. Ruby's desperate to find her place in the world and thinks the Badlands could be it. So, working together isn't going to be straightforward. In fact, it could be downright dangerous. But who said getting what you want is supposed to easy, even if it is just wanting to be ordinary?

The Boy With One Name
Being Miss Nobody
Tamsin Winter

Usborne Publishing Ltd

ISBN 9781474927277

Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She's the weird girl who doesn't talk. The Mute-ant. And it's easy to pick on someone who can't fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog - Miss Nobody; a place to speak up, a place where she has a voice. But there's a problem... Is Miss Nobody becoming a bully herself?

Being Miss Nobody
SweetFreak
Sophie McKenzie

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

ISBN 9781471122231

Accused of bullying her best friend, Amelia, online, Carey isn't prepared for the devastating consequences of online anonymity when the attacks spill over into real life. But who is really behind these vicious comments and threats? And will Carey be able to get to the truth before it's too late? Cyber Bully meets Gone Girl, SweetFreak is full of Sophie's characteristic twists and turns, and will keep you guessing until the very end...

SweetFreak
Alex, Approximately
Jenn Bennett

ISBN 9781471161537

Bailey 'Mink' Rydell has met the boy of her dreams. They share a love of films and talk all day - Alex is perfect. Well, apart from the fact that they've never actually met... and neither of them knows the other's real name. When Bailey moves to sunny California to live with her dad, who happens to live in the same town as Alex, she decides to track him down. But finding someone based on online conversations alone proves harder than Bailey thought, and with her irritating but charismatic (and potentially attractive?) colleague Porter Roth distracting her at every turn, will she ever get to meet the mysterious Alex? From the author of Night Owls comes a story of summer, first love and hidden identities .

Alex, Approximately
Things a Bright Girl Can Do
Sally Nicholls

Andersen Press Ltd

ISBN 9781783445257

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote. Evelyn is 17, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women's freedom. May is 15, and already sworn to the cause, though she and her fellow Suffragists refuse violence. When she meets Nell, a girl who's grown up in hardship, she sees a kindred spirit. Together and in love, the two girls start to dream of a world where all kinds of women have their place. But the fight for freedom will challenge Evelyn, May and Nell more than they ever could believe. As war looms, just how much are they willing to sacrifice?

Things a Bright Girl Can Do
No Filter
Orlagh Collins

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

ISBN 9781408884515

Emerald has grown up in a privileged world - the beloved daughter of a wealthy family, friends with all the right people, social media addict. But Emerald's family has secrets - and when Emerald finds her mum unconscious on the bathroom floor, no one can pretend any more. Now she's being packed off to stay with her grandma in Ireland while her mum recuperates and her dad just works and works and works. Grandma's big, lonely house is set back from the beach, and there's no phone signal or wifi. It's going to be a long summer... Until she meets Liam. When you're falling in love, it's hard to tell someone everything. Even if you've got nothing to hide any more. And when secrets and lies are all you're used to, how do you deal with real love - brave and true - with no filter? The fresh, funny and poignant debut novel from Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction. Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

No Filter
Song of the Current
Sarah Tolcser

Bloomsbury

ISBN 9781408889008

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. Her father is a wherryman, as was her grandmother. All Caro needs is for the river god to whisper her name, and her fate is sealed. But at seventeen, Caro may be too late. So when pirates burn ships and her father is arrested, Caro volunteers to transport mysterious cargo in exchange for his release. Secretly, Caro hopes that by piloting her own wherry, the river god will finally speak her name. But when the cargo becomes more than Caro expected, she finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies. With much more than her father's life at stake, Caro must choose between the future she knows, and the one she could have never imagined.

Song of the Current
Zero Repeat Forever
G. S. Prendergast

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

ISBN 9781471158056

The 5th Wave meets Beauty and the Beast in this fast-paced and heart-stopping novel about an invasion of murderous creatures and one girl fighting for her life at the end of the world. He has no voice or name, only a rank, Eighth. He doesn't know the details of the mission, only the directives that hum in his mind: Dart the humans. Leave them where they fall. His job is to protect his Offside. Let her do the shooting. Until a human kills her... 16-year-old Raven is at summer camp when the terrifying armored Nahx invade. Isolated in the wilderness, Raven and her fellow campers can only stay put. Await rescue. Raven doesn't like feeling helpless, but what choice does she have? Then a Nahx kills her boyfriend. Thrown together in a violent, unfamiliar world, Eighth and Raven should feel only hate and fear. But when Raven is injured, and Eighth deserts his unit, their survival comes to depend on trusting each other...

Zero Repeat Forever