Childrens Book Awards

The latest Book Awards News...

Winner of 2012 Red House Book Award

18 February 2012

Patrick Ness has won the 2012 Red House Book Award for his novel, A Monster Calls (for readers aged 11+).

The award is the only one voted for entirely by children.

The shortlist covered all age ranges and included:

Books for Younger Children

Rollo and Ruff and the Little Fluffy Bird by Mick Inkpen
Don't Worry Douglas! by David Melling
Peely Wally by Kali Stileman
Scruffy Bear and the Six White Mice by Chris Wormell

Books for Younger Readers

One Dog and His Boy by Eva Ibbotson
Sky Hawk by Gill Lewis
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates by Liz Pichon

Books for Older Readers

Grace by Morris Gleitzman
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher