Children's Book Award shortlist announced

A dog that plays jazz, a human soul captured in an animal-like machine and ... PEAS are all shortlisted for the Children's Book Award 2020 - chosen and voted for entirely by children.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the Children's Book Award. Children nationwide are now about to vote for their favourite of the 12 shortlisted books. The deadline for online voting is 12 noon on Friday 15th May.

The category winners and the author of the best children's book published in the 2019 nomination period will be announced at an awards ceremony in Central London on Saturday 13th June.

To mark the award’s 40th Anniversary, a fourth category has been added to the shortlist, to celebrate the most popular books for teens.

The full shortlist for the Children’s Book Award 2020 is as follows:

Books for Younger Children

Jazz Dog, written and illustrated by Marie Voigt, published by OUP

Matisse's Magical Trail, written by Tim Hopgood and illustrated by Sam Boughton, published by OUP

The Runaway Pea, written by Kjartan Poskitt and illustrated by Alex Willmore, published by Simon and Schuster Children's Books

Books for Younger Readers

Mutant Zombies Cursed My School Trip, written by Matt Brown and illustrated by Paco Sordo, published by Usborne

Owen and The Soldier, written by Lisa Thompson, published by Barrington Stoke

The Maker of Monsters, written by Lorraine Gregory, published by OUP

Books for Confident Readers

Wildspark, written by Vashti Hardy, published by Scholastic

A Pocketful of Stars, written by Aisha Busby, published by Egmont

D-Day Dog, written by Tom Palmer, published by Barrington Stoke

Books for Older Readers

Becoming Dinah, written by Kit de Waal, published by Hachette Children's Group

On The Come Up, written by Angie Thomas, published by Walker Books

Two Can Keep a Secret, written by Karen M McManus, published by Penguin

The Children's Book Award is the only national award for children's books that is voted for entirely by children. It is run by the Federation of Children's Book Groups. Previous winners of the award include J.K. Rowling, Patrick Ness, Andy Stanton, Malorie Blackman, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Morpurgo, who has won a record four times.

Children can vote online here:

02/03/2020Children's Book Award shortlist announced

Add Your comment