Bad Things Happen Here

Bad Things Happen Here

By Author / Illustrator

Rebecca Barrow

Genre

Suspense & Thrillers

Age range(s)

14+

Publisher

Hot Key Books

ISBN

9781471411243

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

28-06-2022

Synopsis

With compelling characters, broken friendships and complicated romances, BAD THINGS HAPPEN HERE is a gripping murder mystery full of dark truths, lethal betrayals, and poisonous secrets.Paradise can be deadly ...Luca Laine Thomas lives in Parris, a beautiful island plagued by the unsolved deaths of young women - most significantly, Luca's best friend. All Luca wants is to heal from the traumatic loss and leave her feelings of guilt and helplessness behind.Then Luca comes home to find police cars in her driveway. Her sister, Whitney, is dead.Luca and Naomi, the new girl next door, decide to take the investigation into their own hands, and along the way their connection deepens. Soon, their casual touches and innocent flirtations become something way more real. But finding out what happened on the night of Whitney's disappearance reveals lie upon lie.Nothing is as it seems. Will Luca's search finally reveal the truth about her sister's murder?


Perfect for fans of WE WERE LIARS, ONE OF US IS LYING, ACE OF SPADES, and ASKING FOR IT.

Reviews

Clare

Bad Things Happen Here, Rebecca Barrow's debut novel, is a stylish YA thriller set on a moneyed North American Island where rich kids prevail and an inordinate number of teenage girls seem to die. Wealthy, backbiting Luca has already seen her best friend die when her sister falls victim to what she perceives to be the island's curse. She is sure that malevolent forces are at work and that she is somehow caught up in it all - as well as being a potential next victim.


When new girl Naomi moves in next door, Luca dares to believe that her luck has changed, that the beautiful newcomer can be an ally, and maybe much more. As she begins a covert investigation into her sister's death, Naomi becomes someone she thinks she can trust, but a betrayal and a series of shocking revelations leave Luca reeling - and her delicate mental health in the balance.


This twisting thriller has a suitably menacing setting - a seemingly idyllic island riven with secrets and an incomprehensible, invisible hold on its inhabitants. Sharp divisions exist between the elite and the less well-off inhabitants and tensions bubble ominously. I didn't particularly warm to the protagonist, Luca - she can be mean, biting and superior, often treating those around her dismissively.


The others in her elite group can also be condescending, seeming to live in a pampered bubble and there are some startling revelations about secret lives somehow conducted in a place where everyone seems to know everyone else's business. Despite these quibbles, this is an engrossing book that keeps the reader guessing and Rebecca Barrow would be a good new author for fans of Karen McManus.


The ending - with secrets and cover-ups perpetuating - also perhaps hints at a sequel.


Pages 337 / Reviewed by Clare, school librarian

Suggested Reading Age 14+

 

Other titles