Author of the Month See all

Nora Dasnes

Nora Dasnes

Nora Dåsnes is an author and illustrator. Cross My Heart and Never Lie is her debut as a writer and illustrator and was More...

Placeholder

Author Q&A See all

Breathing underwater

Breathing underwater

Author Sylvia Bishop introduces the secretive world of the 'silvermen' - people who live in air and water - and the threats they More...

Placeholder

A Career in..... See all

What is a Designer?

What is a Designer?

Theatre isn’t all about acting. It takes a whole team of people working together to make a show happen. In this film you can find out abo More...

Placeholder

Latest Books & Extracts

  • Peregrine Quinn and the Cosmic Realm

    THE BEGINNING OF A MAJOR NEW FANTASY SERIES. JOIN PEREGRINE ON A COSMIC ADVENTURE THROUGH THE REALMS!

  • Fablehouse: Heart of Fire

    Protect your home. Conjure your fire. Fulfil your fate. A gripping adventure story of children in care, who discover the power inside the

  • When the Wild Calls

    Having escaped their city, Juniper and her brother Bear are adjusting to life in the wild. But when they hear news of disease running ram

  • King of Nothing: A hilarious and heartwarming teen comedy!

    A laugh-out-loud comedy with heart from Yoto Carnegie shortlisted author Nathanael Lessore, perfect for teen readers.

  • Sister Spirit

    A supernatural thriller, blending African myth, friendship, romance and self-discovery from prize-winning author, Efua Traore.

  • The City Beyond the Stars

    A beautifully atmospheric magical sequel for readers age 9+, perfect for fans of Tamzin Merchant's The Hatmakers, Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Featured Authors

  • Alexandra Sheppard

    Alexandra Sheppard: Alexandra Sheppard introduces her latest novel, Alyssa and the Spell Garden, exploring community, teamwork - and the mag

  • Nicola Penfold

    Nicola Penfold: In her books Where the World Turns Wild and its follow-up, When the Wild Calls, Nicola Penfold explores how climate change might affect o

  • Christopher Edge

    Christopher Edge: Black Hole Cinema Club, Christopher Edge's latest novel, is a love story to movies. Dive into an immersive blockbuster experience! <p

  • Piu DasGupta

    Piu DasGupta: Our debut author of the month Piu DasGupta introduces her novel, Secrets of the Snakestone. Piu

  • Liz Flanagan

    Liz Flanagan: Liz Flanagan, an award-winning author who writes about strange worlds and fantastical creatures, joins ReadingZone to introduce her new b

  • Nora Dasnes

    Nora Dasnes: Nora Dåsnes is an author and illustrator. Cross My Heart and Never Lie is her debut as a writer and illustrator and was

Your Reviews

  • The Crooked Oak Mysteries (5) - The Creatures of Killburn Mine

    Rachael

    The Creatures of Killburn Mine is the fifth installment in the spooky Crooked Oak serie...

  • The Doll Twin

    Sue

    Since the death of her parents, Una has been living in a children's home. Missing her lighthouse home and the moods of the sea, she find life here hard, h...

  • Sister Spirit

    Ruth

    Sister Spirit is a beautifully written, emotional story about a teen girl searching for her identity and, along the way, discovering the...

  • Black Hole Cinema Club

    Sue

    Lucas and his friends, Finn and Ash, are heading for their local cinema, known as 'The Black Hole', for a state-of-the-art experience movie marathon exper...

  • The City Beyond the Stars

    Emma

    The City Beyond the Stars is a phenomenal sequel to <a href="/books/the-kingdom-over-the-sea-the-perfect-spellbinding-fantasy-adventure-f...

  • Bringing Back Kay-Kay

    Hannah

    Bringing Back Kay-Kay is gripping from the start. The protagonist is 12-year-old Lena whose older brother, Kay-Kay, has gone missing afte...

  • Twice Upon a Time

    Beverley

    The Morrow twins, Merry and Spike, were born on either side of the start of the New Year. Consequently, they were born in different months and years, and...

  • When the Wild Calls

    Sue

    Juniper and Bear are now living in Ennerdale with their father, his new partner, Willow, and their baby, Fern. The life they escaped in the city should be...

  • The Reluctant Vampire Queen

    Jessica  Age 11

    The Reluctant Vampire Queen does a very good job at showing that if you are brave and determined enough then you can truly accomplish any...

  • Cross My Heart and Never Lie

    Sam

    A delightful hand-lettered account of first love, and the trials and tribulations of pre-teen friendships. Cross My Heart and Never Lie b...

Videos & Vlogs

Christopher Edge's Black Hole Cinema Club

Christopher Edge's Black Hole Cinema Club

Visit the Black Hole Cinema Club, a totally interactive experience where you'll be taken on the adventure of your lifetime...</st

Friendship, changes and first crushes

Friendship, changes and first crushes

Nora Dasnes introduces her debut graphic novel, Cross My Heart and Never Lie, a story about<

Polly Crossby revisits Little Red Riding Hood

Polly Crossby revisits Little Red Riding Hood

Polly Crosby tells ReadingZone about her novel, This Tale is Forbidden (Scholastic), a fractured fairy tale set in a dystopian world.

This month’s highlights

  • Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book Competition 2024

    Create a Picture Book Competition 2024

    Create a Picture Book Competition 2024 The ReadingZone Picture Book Competition 2024 is challenging those aged four to 18 years to make a picture book. The competition is...

  • Book Trailers

    Make a Book Trailer

    Make a Book Trailer

    Create a Book Trailer Create a book trailer of your favourite book or your latest bookclub read for ReadingZone, and encourage others to read the book!  Or you can use it...

  • Podcasts

    Create your own Podcast

    Create your own Podcast

    Bex, a presenter for Fun Kids, has put together a simple guide for us about creating podcasts and gives us some top tips for starting your own podcast.

  • Videos & Vlogs

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Ever wanted to create your own vlog, but don't know how to get started? In these videos, author and book vlogger Lucy Powrie (lucythereader) gives her tips on getting started, what to inc...