Author of the Month See all

Jenny Pearson

Jenny Pearson

Jenny Pearson is a primary school teacher based in north east England. She loves her job and her debut book, The Miraculous Journey of Fr More...

Placeholder

Authors Q&As See all

An unexpected journey!

An unexpected journey!

Nicola Skinner was inspired to write her new book, Starboard, when she first saw the ship SS Great Britain, which was de More...

Placeholder

A Career in..... See all

Film Production

Film Production

What is a film producer? Sophie tells us what the day-to-day job of a film producer involves, what she loves most More...

Placeholder
Placeholder
Placeholder

Latest Books & Extracts

  • The Lightning Catcher

    When Alfie sets an electrical creature loose it's going to be a perfect storm of trouble. Skellig meets Stranger Things in this funny, he

  • Harklights

    Winner of the Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize, Harklights is a magical story celebrating family, friendship and the natural world, fille

  • By Ash, Oak and Thorn

    A breathtaking tale of the rich, wild world and all its wonder from acclaimed nature writer and Costa Award-shortlisted novelist, Melissa

  • The Incredible Record Smashers

    A record-smashing, feel-good adventure packed with heart, humour and Guinness World Records from Costa Award-shortlisted JENNY PEARSON, a

  • Jane Austen Investigates: The Abbey Mystery

    Jane Austen turns detective in this spooky historical adventure by award-winning author Julia Golding!

  • The Secret Life of Bees: Meet the bees of the world, with Buzzwing the honeybee

    Listen to tiny tales from Buzzwing the hard-working honeybee. Combining non-fiction with a splash of fantasy, The Secret Life of Bees is

  • Monster Doughnuts (Monster Doughnuts 1)

    A deliciously funny series from sparkling new talent Gianna Pollero, illustrated by the award-winning Sarah Horne.  Ten-year-old Grace li

  • The Tindims and the Ten Green Bottles

    The tiny Tindims are like the Borrowers-on-Sea, who turn our everyday rubbish into treasure. Mother-and-daughter duo, prizewinning Sally

  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean: Book 2

    Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co.At the Stra

  • Featherlight

    When the lighthouse no longer shines, what else has the power to guide you to shore?

Featured Authors

  • Em Norry

    Em Norry: Emma (she also writes as EL Norry) has a BA (Hons) in Film and an MA in Screenwriting and has written a number of short stories for adult

  • Helen Harvey

    Helen Harvey: Helen grew up in a wild and unruly corner of the internet, where she dodged flames, crafted websites and led a guild of magical wolf-tame

  • Cath Howe

    Cath Howe: Cath Howe is an author and teacher working in South West London writing for, and working with, Key Stage 2 primary age children.<br

  • Jess Kidd

    Jess Kidd: Jess Kidd wanted to be a writer before she could even write. She comes from a big, noisy (and

  • Gianna Pollero

    Gianna Pollero: Gianna Pollero was born and raised in Kent but also spent a considerable amount of her childhood in northern Italy, where the majority of

  • Nicola Skinner

    Nicola Skinner: Nicola Skinner worked as a copywriter and journalist for the likes of the Guardian and the Pool before being inspired to write Bloom, her

  • Julia Golding

    Julia Golding: Julia Golding grew up on the edge of Epping Forest. After reading English at Cambridge, she joined the Foreign Office and served in Polan

  • Jenny Pearson

    Jenny Pearson: Jenny Pearson is a primary school teacher based in north east England. She loves her job and her debut book, The Miraculous Journey of Fr

  • Cat Weldon

    Cat Weldon: Cat Weldon writes funny books for children and is a little bit obsessed with Vikings. She has an MA in Scriptwriting, and a background in

  • Fleur Hitchcock

    Fleur Hitchcock: Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest

Your Reviews

  • The Smidgens

    Megan

    Smidgens are tiny people, and the Sprout family believes they could be the last of their kind. Until one day, Gafferty Sprout stumbles upon an atlas that...

  • Harklights

    Jacqueline

    Wick (not his real name) is an orphan working at the Harklights match factory and orphanage. Conditions for the orphans, whose real names are taken from t...

  • By Ash, Oak and Thorn

    Kelly

    Reminiscent of The Borrowers, this immersive read about the Hidden Folk living in plain sight all around us is brilliant. Each chapter has an epigraph at...

  • The Lightning Catcher

    Nathan

    The Lightning Catcher is Clare Weze's debut novel for children and what a fantastic debut it is! The story centres around Alfie Bradley a...

  • The Secret Life of Bees: Meet the bees of the world, with Buzzwing the honeybee

    Amanda

    Follow Buzzwing the honey bee on an unforgettable journey as you discover the secrets of the busy, buzzing world of bees. This is a beautifully written an...

  • How to be Me

    Jo

    How To Be Me is an honest and tender look at what it feels like to be an outsider and to experience the pain of not being understood. How...

  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: The Edge of the Ocean: Book 2

    Kelly

    Another triumph for L.D Lapinski in book 2 of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency: Edge of the Ocean. Born out of the pandemic, what better s...

  • Monster Doughnuts (Monster Doughnuts 1)

    Lisa

    A completely wacky and hilarious story about a 10-year-old girl who is a monster hunter! But Grace isn’t any normal monster hunter, she has discovered tha...

  • Do You Love Dinosaurs?

    Wendy

    Dinosaur books are usually always a winner so I had high hopes for this, and wasn't disappointed. Written by Matt Robinson, author of the award winning Do...

  • Starboard

    Beverley

    When seven-year-old Kirsten Bramble made a film to find her Dad a new girlfriend, it went viral and the Brambles are now reality TV stars. They live in a...

Videos & Vlogs

Do you love gaming?

Do you love gaming?

The perfect read for those who like real life stories - and gaming! Helen Harvey introduces Emmy Levels Up.

Pamela Butchart *waves* to ReadingZone

Pamela Butchart *waves* to ReadingZone

Dizzy dancing, broken legs and haunted things make this a book you won't want to put down!

Adventures on Trains with Sam Sedgman

Adventures on Trains with Sam Sedgman

The fantastic Adventures on Trains series is fast-paced, action-packed, and with a mystery at its heart.

Placeholder
Placeholder
Placeholder

This month’s highlights

  • Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    We're challenging those aged four to 18 years to create a picture book! Mini Grey, the author and illustrator of Traction Man is Here and The Last Wolf, is judging the co...

  • Book Trailers

    Make a Book Trailer

    Make a Book Trailer

    Vega Jane Book Trailer Create a book trailer for ReadingZone, introducing Vega Jane and the Secrets of Sorcery, and encourage others to read the book!</p...

  • Podcasts

    Create your own Podcast

    Create your own Podcast

    Bex, a presenter for Fun Kids, has put together a simple guide for us about creating podcasts and gives us some top tips for starting your own podcast.

  • Videos & Vlogs

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Ever wanted to create your own vlog, but don't know how to get started? In these videos, author and book vlogger Lucy Powrie (lucythereader) gives her tips on getting started, what to inc...

Placeholder