Author of the Month See all

MG Leonard

MG Leonard

MG Leonard's bestselling series include Beetle Boy and Adventures on Trains - and her new book, Twitch, takes us into the world of birds More...

Placeholder

Authors Q&As See all

Rapper Ben Bailey Smith's hilarious new book

Rapper Ben Bailey Smith's hilarious new book

From comedian, actor, rapper and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith comes Something I Said - a blazingly funny, big-hearted s More...

Placeholder

A Career in..... See all

Children's books publicity

Children's books publicity

Do you love all things books, reading - and people? Sian, a children's book publicist, tells us how she started working in children's pub More...

Placeholder
Placeholder
Placeholder

Latest Books & Extracts

  • How to Survive Without Grown-Ups

    A hilarious new middle-grade adventure series from new talent Larry Hayes. For fans of Sam Copeland, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  • Edie and the Box of Flits

    A modern classic for readers of THE BORROWERS - about eleven-year-old Edie Winter and her magical box of winged people that only children

  • How I Saved the World in a Week

    A brilliantly imagined new 8+ adventure about resilience, family and hope. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children's Book Prize sho

  • Kate on the Case

    A delicious detective story set on a train from a wonderful new author/illustrator - for readers aged 7+.

  • Dino Knights: Panterra in Peril

    In a medieval land where dinosaurs still roam, lowly stable boy Henry Fairchild joins the brave Dino Knights and rides into adventure on

  • The Incredible Talking Machine

    A gloriously gothic adventure with a magical twist, from an original new voice in middle-grade. Perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, So

  • Something I Said

    From comedian, actor and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith comes the biggest middle grade debut of the year - a blazingly funny, big-hearted

  • Skyborn

    The circus has seen better days, but for Bastjan it's home. Then the ringmaster makes a deal with a mysteriou

  • Earth's Aquarium: Discover 15 Real-life Water Worlds

    Explore 15 different aquatic ecosystems and discover the incredible wildlife that inhabits them.

  • Me and the Robbersons

    When Maisie is snatched by the Robbersons, a bunch of bandits with an insatiable appetite for sweets, she soon becomes one of the gang! S

Featured Authors

  • Efua Traoré

    Efua Traoré : Efua Traoré's Children of the Quicksands draws on her childhood in Nigeria and the mythology of the regions. Efua grew up in a sma

  • Pippa Curnick

    Pippa Curnick: Pippa Curnick has always written her own stories and loves illustrating, so it's no surprise that she has now written and illustrated her

  • Ben Bailey Smith

    Ben Bailey Smith: Ben Bailey Smith - who has written his first novel for children, Something I Said - began his career as a rapper known a

  • Sinéad O'Hart

    Sinéad O'Hart: Sinéad O’Hart's latest book Skyborn is the prequel to her earlier title, The Eye of the North, a dramatic adventure with dangerous villai

  • Ella Risbridger

    Ella Risbridger : Ella Risbridger is a journalist, anthologist and cookery writer. In a former life she was a beauty columnist for the i</

  • Julia Golding

    Julia Golding: Julia Golding grew up on the edge of Epping Forest. After reading English at Cambridge, she joined the Foreign Office and served in Polan

  • Kirsty Applebaum

    Kirsty Applebaum: Kirsty Applebaum is the award-winning author of books including The Middler, Troofriend and her latest novel, Th

  • Jenny Pearson

    Jenny Pearson: Jenny Pearson is a primary school teacher based in north east England. She loves her job and her debut book, The Miraculous Journey of Fr

  • Clare Weze

    Clare Weze: Clare Weze was raised in London and Yorkshire and has British and Nigerian heritage. She writes for adults and children and has always wr

  • Ros Roberts

    Ros Roberts: Ros Roberts’ amazing teachers encouraged her love of writing, setting her daily challenges to create poems to read to the class. She beca

  • Tim Tilley

    Tim Tilley: Tim Tilley grew up on the outskirts of Leicester, and studied Illustration at Anglia Ruskin University and Central Saint Martins. He work

  • Cath Howe

    Cath Howe: Cath Howe is an author and teacher working in South West London writing for, and working with, Key Stage 2 primary age children.<br

  • Louie Stowell

    Louie Stowell: Louie Stowell started her career writing carefully-researched books about space, Ancient Egypt, politics and science but eventually lapse

  • Melissa Harrison

    Melissa Harrison: Melissa Harrison is an award-winning novelist and nature writer. Her books have won the Europe

  • Charlie P Brooks

    Charlie P Brooks: Charlie Brooks left Eton to become a stable lad for racing legend Fred Winter. After riding in the Grand National, and winning the Chelte

  • Jenny Valentine

    Jenny Valentine: Jenny Valentine grew up on different army bases in Germany and Cyprus. She studied English Literature at Goldsmith College adn married a

  • Jess Kidd

    Jess Kidd: Jess Kidd wanted to be a writer before she could even write. She comes from a big, noisy (and

  • Nicola Skinner

    Nicola Skinner: Nicola Skinner worked as a copywriter and journalist for the likes of the Guardian and the Pool before being inspired to write Bloom, her

Your Reviews

  • The Ship of Shadows

    Carol

    Ajela is hungry for adventure. While life at home is Seville, helping in the family taverna and trying to escape from her loving family's ladylike expecta...

  • Edie and the Box of Flits

    Jennifer

    I absolutely fell in love with this modern but classic feeling magical, fantastical adventure. 11 year old Edie Winter helps out with Dad's job at the Lon...

  • Kate on the Case

    Lucy

    Kate on the Case starts with some lovely pictures to introduce the characters, as well as pictures of different carriages in the train. I...

  • Dino Knights: Panterra in Peril

    Megan

    In a medieval land where dinosaurs still roam, Henry is destined to be more than a stable boy. Henry Fairchild, a common stable boy, has a unique u...

  • Noah's Gold

    Donna

    It is a well-known fact (in his family) that Noah breaks everything he touches. But, when he stows away in the back of the school mini-bus on his sister's...

  • How to Survive Without Grown-Ups

    Darcey  Age 10

    First of all, this incredible book has bits of all kinds of genres, including: bits of sadness, bits of happiness, loads of funny bits and sci-fi. There a...

  • Earth's Aquarium: Discover 15 Real-life Water Worlds

    Sharon

    This dazzling picture book has 15 watery environments for the reader to explore, each with a double page spread with an introduction describing the habita...

  • Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest

    Nicola

    Vashti Hardy has done it again! Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest is an absolute triumph and a joy to read, in fact this book has not seen the shelf since...

  • How to Be a Footballer and Other Sports Jobs

    Kyle

    How to Be a Footballer is the definitive guide to the world's number one sport…football. This nonfiction text covers every aspect of the...

  • Me and the Robbersons

    Jennifer

    Me and the Robbersons is a quirky, unique, witty and fun adventure full of odd, crazy and heartwarmingly hilarious events. Bored Maisie i...

Videos & Vlogs

A spectacular adventure set in Nigeria

A spectacular adventure set in Nigeria

Efua Traoré introduces Children of the Quicksands, a spectacular adventure drawing on Nigerian mythology

Clare Weze introduces The Lightning Catcher

Clare Weze introduces The Lightning Catcher

The Lightning Catcher, Clare Weze's debut novel for children, is a fast-paced adventure story set in a small village with some big charac

In this video, author Ros Roberts introduces her heart warming story, Digger and Me (Little Tiger)

Placeholder
Placeholder
Placeholder

This month’s highlights

  • Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    The winners of the ReadingZone Create a Picture Book Competition have been announced! Mini Grey, the author and illustrator of Traction Man is Here and The Last Wolf, has...

  • Book Trailers

    Make a Book Trailer

    Make a Book Trailer

    Vega Jane Book Trailer Create a book trailer for ReadingZone, introducing Vega Jane and the Secrets of Sorcery, and encourage others to read the book!</p...

  • Podcasts

    Create your own Podcast

    Create your own Podcast

    Bex, a presenter for Fun Kids, has put together a simple guide for us about creating podcasts and gives us some top tips for starting your own podcast.

  • Videos & Vlogs

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Ever wanted to create your own vlog, but don't know how to get started? In these videos, author and book vlogger Lucy Powrie (lucythereader) gives her tips on getting started, what to inc...

Placeholder