Author of the Month See all

Simon Fox

Simon Fox

Running out of Time is Simon Fox's first novel after 20 years trapped in the dungeon of accountancy.  He is determined to never go back.  More...

Placeholder

Authors Q&As See all

Molly Morris's YA debut, This Is Not the End

Molly Morris's YA debut, This Is Not the End

This is Not the End packs a huge pop-culture punch with a speculative fiction twist - perfect for fans of Adam Silvera (ages 14+). <p More...

Placeholder

A Career in..... See all

Film Production

Film Production

What is a film producer? Sophie tells us what the day-to-day job of a film producer involves, what she loves most More...

Placeholder

Latest Books & Extracts

  • The Last Whale

    From killers to conservationists, Carnegie-shortlisted Chris Vick tells the story of three generations of the Kristensen family, their hi

  • Running Out of Time

    A thrilling, unputdownable debut, with extraordinary twists and incredible action, from an incredible new voice in children's fiction.</p

  • The Worlds We Leave Behind

    A powerful and poignant story about friendship and betrayal from the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary, illustrated by awa

  • Her Dark Wings

    A lyrical, deeply felt exploration of love, hate, obsession and attraction - this is an unmissable YA novel, from the award-winning autho

  • The Reluctant Vampire Queen

    Geek Girl meets Buffy in a brilliantly funny new teen series from bestselling author Jo Simmons

  • Tag, You're Dead

    A livestreamed game of tag over one adrenaline-and-fear-fuelled night in London, watched by millions. Four contestants. One will stop at

Featured Authors

  • Chris Vick

    Chris Vick: In between writing and teaching, Chris Vick works for a whale and dolphin conservation charity which has helped inspire The Last Whale, h

  • Simon Fox

    Simon Fox: Running out of Time is Simon Fox's first novel after 20 years trapped in the dungeon of accountancy.  He is determined to never go back. 

  • Catherine Barter

    Catherine Barter: Catherine Barter's We Played with Fire has won the Young Quill's Award for historical fiction for her novel, We Played w

  • Tracy Darnton

    Tracy Darnton: Tracy Darnton's new tense YA page-turner, Ready or Not, follows a group of teenagers meeting for the fi

  • Sue Divin

    Sue Divin: Sue Divin is a Derry-based writer and peace worker, originally from Armagh in the North of Ireland. With a Masters in Pe

  • Sita Brahmachari

    Sita Brahmachari: Sita Brahmachari's powerful new book, When Shadows Fall, weaves together themes of mental health, friendship and the environment. I

Your Reviews

  • The Last Whale

    Clair

    Abi's involvement in Earth Crisis as a climate activist has led to her being excluded from school. Deciding she needs a holiday, Abi's dad takes her acros...

  • Running Out of Time

    Jane

    Before fleeing their home, Dad tells 14-year-old Alex "this isn't a war for the brave, it's a war for the clever. Because we are up against an enemy who w...

  • Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl: The must-read YA romcom of 2022

    Clair

    Monique is a preacher's daughter and her parents have high standards and expectations of her to remain 'pure'. She has been dating Dom for two years. He i...

  • Her Dark Wings

    Linda

    I simply loved Her Dark Wings! This author seriously knows how to keep her target audience engaged, with her believable characters and wo...

  • Family of Liars: The Prequel to We Were Liars

    Tanja

    If you’re looking for a psychological thriller that takes a scalpel to human nature, E. Lockhart's Family of Liars is a good choice. Caug...

  • This Wicked Fate

    Tanja

    Kalynn Bayron reinvented the myth of Cinderella shattering the patriarchal construct of the tortuous glass slipper into fragments in <a href="/books/cinde...

  • Tsunami Girl

    Julie

    Tsunami Girl is a coming-of-age story about a 15-year-old girl Yuki. She lives in England with her parents and is struggling to cope with...

  • Love Radio

    Ruth

    Love Radio is a great read about relationships. For the main characters, Dani and Prince, their initial attraction is no guarantee of a s...

  • Why Is Nobody Laughing?

    Clair

    Why is Nobody Laughing? is a powerful book which tackles the subject of teenage mental health in boys; a subject that should be talked ab...

  • Bad Things Happen Here

    Clare

    Bad Things Happen Here, Rebecca Barrow's debut novel, is a stylish YA thriller set on a moneyed North American Island where rich kids pre...

Videos & Vlogs

The games we play....

The games we play....

Tracey Darnton's psychological thriller explores what happens when a game of hide and seek goes wrong... and one of the group vanishes.</

Friends and family in a divided country

Friends and family in a divided country

"Truth Be Told is about truth, forgiveness and the stories that do not fit. Up front, it's the story of two sixteen-year-old girls, Tara

Challenging prejudices and misconceptions

Challenging prejudices and misconceptions

Explore the common misconceptions and prejudices that still surround HIV in the 21st century through the lives of three young people.

This month’s highlights

  • Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    ReadingZone Picture Book Competition 2022 The ReadingZone Picture Book Competition 2022, in partnership with World Book Day, challenged those aged four to 18 years to mak...

  • Book Trailers

    Make a Book Trailer

    Make a Book Trailer

    Create a Book Trailer Create a book trailer of your favourite book or your latest bookclub read for ReadingZone, and encourage others to read the book!  Or you can use it...

  • Videos & Vlogs

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Ever wanted to create your own vlog, but don't know how to get started? In these videos, author and book vlogger Lucy Powrie (lucythereader) gives her tips on getting started, what to inc...