Author of the Month See all

Jesse Q Sutanto

Jesse Q Sutanto

Jesse writes books for children and adults, and her first YA romcom, Well, That Was Unexpected, is now available. Jesse grew up in More...

Placeholder

Author Q&A See all

JP Rose introduces her psychological thriller, The Haunting of Tyrese Walker

JP Rose introduces her psychological thriller, The Haunting of Tyrese Walker

Read a Chapter from The Haunting of JP Rose "Hi there, I'm JP Rose and I'm the More...

Placeholder

A Career in..... See all

What is a director?

What is a director?

Theatre isn't all about acting. It takes a whole team of people working together to make a show happen. In this film created by the <a hr More...

Placeholder

Latest Books & Extracts

  • Five Survive

    New for 2022, the explosive new crime thriller from the best-selling, award-winning author of the TikTok sensation A Good Girl's Guide to

  • Well, That Was Unexpected

    Crazy Rich Asians meets To All the Boys I've Loved Before in this, an outrageous, laugh-out-loud yet heartfelt

  • Wolfbane

    The grand finale of the Wolf Brother series by million-copy-selling Michelle Paver. Wolf is swept out to Sea and hunted by an ice demon b

  • Terciel & Elinor - The Old Kingdom 1: The newest adventure in the bestselling Old Kingdom series

    The long-awaited new novel from multi bestselling Garth Nix, set in the Old Kingdom, now in paperback! For fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leig

  • Sixteen Souls

    The spooky, swoony YA debut from BookTok star @Merrowchild! Someone is stripping Europe's most haunted city of its spirits. When self-des

  • The Other Ones

    Sal lives in a haunted house - but as he grows closer to fellow outcast, fan of all things spooky and neighbourhood newcomer, Pax, the tr

Featured Authors

  • Jesse Q Sutanto

    Jesse Q Sutanto: Jesse writes books for children and adults, and her first YA romcom, Well, That Was Unexpected, is now available. Jesse grew up in

  • JP Rose

    JP Rose: Author JP Rose's first YA novel, The Haunting of Tyrese Walker, is a gripping psychological horror story. JP Rose was born in Manchester

  • Darren Charlton

    Darren Charlton: Darren Charlton's lifetime obsessions with the National Parks of America, horror, film music and 80s kids movies have all worked their wa

  • Finbar Hawkins

    Finbar Hawkins: Finbar Hawkins's new novel Stone weaves ancient tales into a contemporary story. His debut novel, Witch, was shortlisted for the Branford

  • Rachel Burge

    Rachel Burge: YA author Rachel Burge's new novel, Waking the Witch, follows her earlier YA books The Twisted Tree and The Cro

  • Chris Vick

    Chris Vick: In between writing and teaching, Chris Vick works for a whale and dolphin conservation charity which has helped inspire The Last Whale, h

Your Reviews

  • It's Behind You

    Abi  Age 11

    It was amazing, perfect for best friends to read at a sleepover at 3am!

  • Five Survive

    Ruth

    Five Survive is a brilliant, breathtaking book! Six excited friends set off for a welcome break together but by nightfall, their lives ar...

  • The Boy Lost in the Maze

    Clare

    Acclaimed poet Joseph Coelho seamlessly binds myth and reality in this spellbinding new verse novel. A poetic retelling of the story of Theseus and the Mi...

  • The Other Ones

    Morgan

    Everybody knows the haunted house in the neighbourhood. Unfortunately this means that young Sal, who prefers to stay hidden, is thrown into the spot light...

  • Wolfbane

    Kelly

    A book that leaves you breathless. If I could give this more than 5*, I would!  The ancient clans seek peace, but at what cost? A choked howl gives way to...

  • Honesty and Lies

    Jane

    I have no hesitancy in giving this book a 5 star rating. The author is adept at using language in keeping with Elizabethan times, when London hummed to th...

  • Well, That Was Unexpected

    Clair

    Well, That Was Unexpected is a multicultural rom com that delivers heart-warming, laugh-out-loud moments. Sharlot "Who knows why these En...

  • Nothing More to Tell

    Linda

    Nothing More To Tell is the latest crime/suspense story by the wonderful writer Karen McManus. If you love this genre but haven't read an...

  • As Long As the Lemon Trees Grow

    Louise

    Meet Salama Kassab: Daughter, sister, pharmacy student, and protagonist of the most hauntingly beautiful book I have read this year. I haven't read a book...

  • Unraveller

    Eileen

    "If you must travel to the country of Raddith, then be prepared…" This opening sentence of the Prologue to Unraveller serves as a timely...

Videos & Vlogs

Lockwood & Co comes to Netflix

Lockwood & Co comes to Netflix

Lockwood &amp; Co is coming to Netflix on 27th January 2023 - check out the official trailer but be warned - it's not for the fai

Win Lose Kill Die, read by Cynthia Murphy

Win Lose Kill Die, read by Cynthia Murphy

Author Cynthia Murphy reads the first two chapters from her bestselling book, Win Lose Kill Die (Scholastic), which has taken Tik

Hunting for The Last Whale

Hunting for The Last Whale

Chris Vick's The Last Whale (Zephyr) is a powerful exploration of our oceans and what links us to them; a story about on

This month’s highlights

  • Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    Create a Picture Book

    ReadingZone Picture Book Competition 2022 The ReadingZone Picture Book Competition 2022, in partnership with World Book Day, challenged those aged four to 18 years to mak...

  • Book Trailers

    Make a Book Trailer

    Make a Book Trailer

    Create a Book Trailer Create a book trailer of your favourite book or your latest bookclub read for ReadingZone, and encourage others to read the book!  Or you can use it...

  • Videos & Vlogs

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Creating a Book Vlog

    Ever wanted to create your own vlog, but don't know how to get started? In these videos, author and book vlogger Lucy Powrie (lucythereader) gives her tips on getting started, what to inc...