Between Sea and Sky

Between Sea and Sky

By Author / Illustrator

Nicola Penfold

Genre

Environment

Age range(s)

9+

Publisher

Little Tiger Press Group

ISBN

9781788953139

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

08-07-2021

Synopsis

In a near future where a series of environmental disasters has left much of the country underwater, Pearl lives on a floating oyster farm with her father and younger sister, Clover. Following her mum's death several years earlier, Pearl refuses to set foot on land, believing her illness was caused by the poisons in the ground. Meanwhile, Clover dreams of school, friends and a normal life.


Then Nat comes to spend the summer at the sea farm while his scientist mum conducts some experiments. Leaving behind the mainland, with its strict rules and regulations, he brings with him a secret. But when the sisters promise to keep his secret safe, little do they realize that they may be risking everything...


A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from the author of the highly acclaimed WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD. Perfect for fans of THE EXPLORER, THE LAST WILD and WHERE THE RIVER RUNS GOLD.


Q&A and Video with Nicola Penfold

Reviews

Sharon

This is the first Nicola Penfold book I've read and I have to say I will be looking for more. This story is beautifully written, giving the reader a real feeling of knowing the characters. There are so many themes threaded throughout this story; sibling love, grief, family secrets, present/future environmental issues and ecology.


For Key Stage 2 children this would be a challenging read, however, with some explanation they would totally get it. Kate Forrester’s cover is simply stunning with so many clues to the story within. Very clever. The links with science, geography and PSHE throughout this text would be great for year 6 to explore and for a class teacher, the short chapters are really useful. It means one can use them as a standalone text for writing or for enjoyment. This seems to be quite rare in upper key stage two books at the moment.


I loved they way Nicola wove the threads of her characters' stories together and, without giving anything away, I really didn't see the family secret coming.


352 pages / Ages 10+ / Reviewed by Sharon Porter, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 11+

 

Other titles