The City Beyond the Stars

The City Beyond the Stars

By Author / Illustrator

Zohra Nabi, Tom Clohosy Cole, Federica Frenna

Genre

Fantasy

Age range(s)

9+

Publisher

Simon & Schuster

ISBN

9781398517738

Format

Paperback / softback

Expected

25-04-2024

Synopsis

Set in a lavish world of sorceresses, alchemists, jinn and flying carpets, this spine-tingling middle-grade book is perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Sophie Anderson.  From the author of the Waterstone's Children's Book of the Month The Kingdom Over the Sea comes a gorgeous, lyrical adventure about family and finding where you belong.

Confined to a besieged Settlement, Yara longs to free her mother from the alchemists in the City of Zehaira. When Yara receives a message from her mother to find the hidden residence of the Grand High Sorceress, it sets her on a different path.

Yara and her friends set off on an adventure to find her mother's home, and to seek out a secret magic that her mother was working on - magic so powerful that it could defeat the alchemists once and for all. But the wicked alchemist Omair Firaaz is on her trail and will stop at nothing to gain the power himself...  Can Yara and her friends find the magic that could be the answer to everything ... before it destroys them all?   Read book 1: The Kingdom Over the Sea


Find out more in this short video by author Zohra Nabi, and read ReadingZone's Q&A with Zohra




Praise for The City Beyond the Stars: "Zohra is such an exciting storyteller - I was held spellbound throughout." Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song. "A thrilling, captivating adventure just as fun and magical as the original. Storytelling at its best." - Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear.  "The book shines with magic and the power of storytelling. Spellbinding." - Zillah Bethell, author of The Song Walker.  "Lyrical, magical and captivating - Zohra Nabi is the ultimate story sorcerer." - Laura Noakes, Cosima Unfortunate Steals A Star. 


Praise for The Kingdom Over the Sea:  "Enchanting, immersive and beautifully imagined. Once I'd finished, I couldn't stop dreaming of this magnificent magical world." A.F. Steadman, author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief.  "Spellbinding storytelling - lyrical, heartfelt, and glittering with possibilities." Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs.  "A glorious debut brimming with magic and warmth. The Kingdom Over The Sea dazzled me every time I turned the page." - Natasha Hastings, author of The Miraculous Sweetmakers

Reviews

Emma

The City Beyond the Stars is a phenomenal sequel to The Kingdom Over the Sea and once again I had the privilege of immersing myself in Yara’s world of sorcery and alchemy. Her quest for discovery, for acceptance, for love and for good is as gripping this time around as it as was in the first book in the series. I was breathless with anticipation and read the book in one sitting. I cannot wait to share this book with my Year 6 class (ages 10+) as some of the descriptive language is the best I've ever read.


352 pages / Reviewed by Emma Urbonas, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 9+

 

Other titles