Fight Back

Fight Back

By Author / Illustrator

A. M. Dassu

Genre

Representation & Inclusion

Age range(s)

11+

Publisher

Scholastic

ISBN

9780702315886

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

02-06-2022

Synopsis

An empowering story about finding your identity and the courage to fight for it. Aaliyah is an ordinary 13-year-old living in the Midlands - she's into her books, shoes, K-pop and she is a Muslim. She has always felt at home where she lives... until a terrorist attack in her area changes everything. As racial tensions increase and she starts getting bullied, Aaliyah decides to begin wearing a hijab - to challenge how people in her community see her. But when her school bans the hijab and she is intimidated and attacked for her choices, she feels isolated. Soon Aaliyah realises that other young people from different backgrounds also struggle with their identity and feel alone, scared and judged. Should she try to blend in - or can she find allies to help her fight back? Channelling all of her bravery, Aaliyah decides to speak out. Together, can Aaliyah and her friends halt the tide of hatred rippling through their community?


An essential read to encourage empathy, challenging stereotypes, exploring prejudice, racism, Islamophobia and positive action. A.M. Dassu is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed Boy, Everywhere, A story of hope, speaking up and the power of coming together in the face of hatred. Perfect for readers of Elle McNicoll and Helen Rutter. "A major, much needed voice in UK children's fiction." Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors and Crongton Knights . "One of the best, most relevant, most important writers we have in the UK today." Liz Kessler, author of When the World was Ours "A. M. Dassu serves up an important, necessary book about racism and identity." Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant.

Other titles