Rabbit and Bear: A Bite in the Night: Book 4

Rabbit and Bear: A Bite in the Night: Book 4

By Author / Illustrator

Julian Gough, Jim Field



Age range(s)



Hachette Children's Group








Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear ... on the day that a new creature arrives in their valley, trying to Change Everything. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.

'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)

Rabbit is surprised: some of the trees in the valley seem to be flying south for the winter.

His friend Bear is sure that trees can't fly.

Then there's a loud CRUNCH! from Very Near By. It sounds like the world's largest rabbit, eating the world's largest carrot.

There's a new creature in Rabbit and Bear's valley, and he's trying to Change Everything.

From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of Mystery! Friendship! Progress! ... and all kinds of getting muddy.

'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Read all the Rabbit and Bear books:
1. Rabbit's Bad Habits
2. The Pest in the Nest
3. Attack of the Snack
4. A Bite in the Night



Rabbit and Bear return in another heart warming tale! The events of this story unfold just as bear begins his annual hibernation. Rabbit interrupts his long winter's nap with the news that trees are disappearing from the forest and his burrow is at risk from the flooding. A crunching, munching monster must be to blame! The culprit, a new creature in the valley, is only concerned with progress and incredibly frustrated by anyone standing in its way. Progress is all about making things bigger and better, but unfortunately it comes at the expense of the smaller animals in the forest. Friendships are tested as Rabbit and Bear have to choose sides; hydro-engineering versus doing what's right. However, progress also means success and some animals feel driven to be successful no matter the cost. The woodland creatures begin to question what the true meaning of success is and the price that must be paid to achieve it. Success certainly isn't working hard all week long, in order to sit in a damp, muddy, floody river lodge, without friends for company! In the end, Rabbit's no nonsense approach regarding what is important and what really makes life successful makes everyone see sense. Life in the woodland valley is all about dancing, winter sleepovers and most importantly, friendship. The true beauty of the Rabbit and Bear series of books is their ability to weave important life lessons together with gorgeous characters, their habits and habitats. The perfect crafting of humour, fact and subtle moral messages. These books aren't just loved for Julian Gough's story telling as Jim Field's fabulous, award winning, illustrations are an essential part of the narration of these brilliant tales. Each character's personality is captured beautifully and the action is picture perfect. Great for readers moving on from early readers, these books are a real treasure for helping newly independent readers to gain confidence. 112 pages / Ages 5-7 years / Reviewed by Emily Beale, librarian

Suggested Reading Age 5+


Other titles