The House on the Edge

The House on the Edge

By Author / Illustrator

Alex Cotter, Kathrin Honesta

Genre

Friends and family

Age range(s)

9+

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

ISBN

9781788008624

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

01-07-2021

Synopsis

A tense thriller that's impossible to put down - perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Fleur Hitchcock.Where has Faith's dad gone? Why has he left his family living in an old house perched on a crumbling cliff top? A crack has appeared in the cliff and Faith watches anxiously as it gets bigger and bigger each day... Her brother is obsessed with the sea ghosts he claims live in the basement, and when he disappears as well, Faith starts to believe in the ghosts too. Can she find her brother and bring her father back before everything she cares about falls into the pitiless sea below?  A great mystery with real heart, from a captivating new voice in middle-grade fiction.  With cover illustration by Kathrin Honesta and neon finishes.


Q&A and video with Alex Cotter

Reviews

Sam

Faith and her young brother Noah live with their mother in The Lookout; a crumbling house, teetering on the edge of a Dorset cliff top. Faith's father has disappeared, her uncle is adamant the house should be his, and Faith alone is left to look after her brother, who appears obsessed by sea ghosts, and her mother who has lost her 'spark' and won't get out of bed. When Faith is befriended by a mysterious young boy called Sam, she learns that there may be more to Noah's ghost stories than she initially thinks. The house is hiding secrets and if Faith can uncover them then there may be a way she can save it, but can she find the answers she needs before everything comes crashing down…


The House on the Edge deals with some important real life issues. Faith is forced to grow-up fast and her carefree teenage life is replaced by responsibilities way beyond her years. She finds herself caring for her mother who is struggling with mental health issues, looking after her younger brother and trying to maintain the pretence to interfering family members and a demanding school teacher that everything is normal at home.


I absolutely loved this book, it's a thrilling children's story, perfect for any Key Stage 2 reader who enjoys a spooky read without being too frightened. A superbly written debut novel by Alex Cotter


272 pages / Reviewed by Sam Phillips, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 9+

Jacqueline

Faith lives in a house on the edge of the cliff. There are cracks in the house and cracks in the family. Her father has left, and her mother is no longer functioning properly, clearly deep in depression. Faith looks after her mother, her brother Noah, and the house. She is not managing very well and trying hard to keep away from everyone else, so they do not guess what is happening at home. Noah says there are sea ghosts in the basement. Uncle Art wants the house- he feels it should have been his in the first place. And Sam, the boy on the beach, wants to find treasure. Faith is caught between all of this and a mystery surrounding the house a few hundred years previously. All the while the crack in the garden is getting larger, much like the crack in her heart.


This is a very original story that pulls you in from the opening page. It is beautifully written, and the words vividly create the scenes in your imagination. This is both a mystery adventure and a story about loss and grief. The only thing holding Faith together is the house, and that has huge fissures in it. It is not just the house that is on the edge, but the whole family.


Alex Cotter's debut is exciting and breath-taking as well as a book that will leave you feeling emotionally wrung out. I found the descriptions of the mother's state of health particularly true to life and it is a book you need to know your class to recommend for them to read it.


292 pages / Ages 9+ / Reviewed by Jacqueline Harris, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 9+

Jane

This isn't just an adventure story involving three children - Faith, her younger brother Noah, and Sam - on the run, on the lookout for treasure, hope, a secure home. Nor is it a simple story of ghosts - as if ghosts were real anyway! Nor yet is it just about shattered families and friendships, or times past when smugglers, wreckers and heroines populated seaside towns. It isn't even a book in which the adults are predictably boring, mean or stupid and we know immediately which side to take.


The House on the Edge is satisfyingly more, so that even seasoned readers are kept on tenterhooks until the very end. All the characters are well drawn, the plot is pleasingly puzzling and the presentation very attractive, both the cover and the themed graphics on every page edge and chapter opening.


This is a credit to children's literature from an author whose skill in creative writing is well recognised. I shall be recommending it widely, especially to Year 4 upwards - with just a note of caution that it contains some bad language, as well as a depiction of a parent falling apart under the stress of grief and responsibility. Perhaps books like this might help others to tread a different path towards understanding and healing at a younger age.


272 pages / Reviewed by Jane Rew, school librarian

Suggested Reading Age 9+

Sharon

Faith (our plucky protagonist) lives with her brother, Noah, and mum in The Lookout; the house on the edge of an eroding cliff. Unfortunately, the house isn't the only thing "on the edge". Faith's mum is foggy after her husband's disappearance, Noah is "away with the fairies" most of the time and talking to cellar ghosts and Faith is trying to hold everything together, despite losing her friends due to gossip about her family. All this leads to an adventure involving smuggler tunnels, intrigue with a ghost, the discovery of treasure and a sad but brave loss in the family's past.


A lovely way to deal with loss, family mistakes, child carer roles and an unexpected ending. We won't spoil it for you! I would recommend this book for use alongside a unit of learning about smugglers or as alongside a seaside topic with Year 3 children or above. It is an easy read with plenty of P.S.H.E. issues to discuss throughout the story as an aside. I will be looking out for further Alex Cotter books to read in the future.


292 pages / Ages 8+ / Reviewed by Sharon Porter, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 7+

 

Other titles