Truly Tyler

Truly Tyler

By Author / Illustrator

Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson

Genre

Friendship

Age range(s)

9+

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers

ISBN

9780062894564

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

27-05-2021

Synopsis

A story about being your truest self-and trusting your truest friends-from bestselling author Terri Libenson. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.


Cliques. Crushes. Comics. Middle school.


Ever since Tyler started getting into art and hanging out with Emmie, his friends and teammates have been giving him a hard time. He wonders why can't he nerd out on drawing and play ball?


Emmie is psyched that she gets to work on a comics project with her crush, Tyler. But she gets the feeling that his friends don't think she's cool enough. Maybe it's time for a total reinvention. . . .


Don't miss the rest of the Emmie & Friends series: Invisible Emmie, Positively Izzy, Just Jaime, Becoming Brianna, and You-Niquely You: An Emmie & Friends Interactive Journal!

Reviews

martha - Age 10

Wow I love this book!


384 pages / Reviewed by Martha, age 10

Suggested Reading Age 7+

Sam

Truly Tyler by Terri Libenson is the fifth book in this popular series, and the first one from a boy's view point. This is the first book I have read from the Emmie and Friends series, and I most definitely enjoyed it. Even though it is part of a series, it reads absolutely fine as a standalone, although it would probably have been even better if I had started with the first book and worked my way through to this one.


Tyler is the popular boy in school: a basketball star and the dream boyfriend of many of the girls. However, Tyler is struggling with the fact that not only does he like basketball, he also he likes art. When he pairs up with Emmie for an art project, everyone teases him that she is his girlfriend, and a step down from his ex! Tyler begins to think that he must chose between his friends and basketball, or Emmie and his art project.


Truly Tyler incorporates a mix of graphic novel and illustrated novel to depict how Tyler struggles to to find a way to do both of the things he enjoys, without losing his friends, or his credibility. I have no doubt that this crossover format will be popular in any KS2 classroom, appealing to boys and girls, while also engaging reluctant readers.


384 pages / Reviewed by Sam Phillips, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 9+

 

Other titles