When Shadows Fall

When Shadows Fall

By Author / Illustrator

Sita Brahmachari, Natalie Sirett

Genre

Mental Health & Wellbeing

Age range(s)

14+

Publisher

Little Tiger Press Group

ISBN

9781788953160

Format

Hardback

Published

11-11-2021

Synopsis

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes, a small green space in a sprawling grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future - until Kai's family suffers a huge loss.


Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a new and more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and new classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?


A heart-breaking and poignant novel from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari, for fans of The Black Flamingo and The Stars Were Burning Brightly.


Q&A and Reading by author Sita Brahmachari

Reviews

Lucy

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes; a small green space in a sprawling, grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future - until Kai's family suffers a huge loss. Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?


When Shadows Fall is so beautiful, so lyrical, so moving and so utterly heartbreaking. It's taken me a while to actually process Kai's story as I felt the intense grief and loss as he felt he could no longer cope. First and foremost this is Kai's story but it's also seen, in part, through the eyes of his friends Orla and Om, both of whom watch Kai fall apart and feel powerless to put him back together again.


It's a story of friendships, of growing apart and growing back together again. It's a story of the healing power of nature. It's a story of the beauty of nature but also the devastating sadness of nature too. It's about ravens. It's about building and rebuilding. About legacies and memories. About families. About communities. About how best to cope. About loss. About how to express yourself.


It's about everything packed into one book and that one book is quite possibly the most powerful book I have ever read. If you only read one book this year, make it this one.


384 pages / Reviewed by Lucy Georgeson, school librarian

Suggested Reading Age 14+

 

Other titles