Longlist announced for the 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize

Posted on Thursday, February 15, 2024
Category: Book Awards

Longlist announced for the 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize

The longlist for the 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize has been announced. The Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children's picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and an influential figure in picture books.

Celebrating the most exciting newcomers to picture book illustration  #KlausFluggePrize  

The Klaus Flugge Prize is the only award specifically to recognise a published picture book by a debut illustrator.  Over 40 books were submitted from 27 different publishing houses; 17 have made it to the longlist including books from Flying Eye, Little Tiger, Templar, Little Island Books and Walker Books.

The shortlist will be announced on 15 May 2024 and the winner will be revealed on 11 September 2024.

The 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize longlist in full:

The Slug and the Snail illustrated by Olya Anima.
Written by Oein DeBhairduin, editor Siobhán Parkinson, designer Louise Millar (Little Island Books and Skein Press)
Outside illustrated by Oren Lapwing (formerly Bee Chuck)
Editor Isabel Otter, designer Emma Jennings (Little Tiger)
My Bollywood Dream illustrated by Avani Dwivedi
Editor Tanya Rosie, designer Marty Cleary, art director Deirdre McDermott (Walker Books)
We Are a Circus illustrated by Rosie Fencott
Written by Nasta, editor/designer Emma Dai'an Wright (The Emma Press)
Ning and the Night Spirits illustrated by Adriena Fong
Editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art director Lilly Gottwald (Flying Eye Books)
We Dug Up the World illustrated by Kitty Harris
Written by Alexandra Stewart, editor Lucy Twist, art director Alison Padley (Laurence King Publishing)
The Crown illustrated by Emily Kapff
Editor Pauliina Malinen, designers Audrey Keri-Nagy & Marty Cleary, art director Deirdre McDermott (Walker Books)
Who Owns the Woods? illustrated by Jess Mason
Written by Emily Hibbs, editor Harriet Evans, designer Maddie Pilkington (Little Tiger)
The Dream Book by Bia Melo
Editor Amelia Warren, designer Christopher Stanley (Templar)
Brilliant Black British History illustrated by Kingsley Nebechi
Written by Atinuke, editor Sally Beets, art director Katie Knutton (Bloomsbury Children's Books)
Wolf and Bear illustrated by Kate Rolfe
Editor Suzanne Carnell, designer Jo Spooner (Two Hoots)
The Little Fear illustrated by Luke Scriven
Editor Alice Blacker, art director Candice Turvey (HarperCollins Children's Books)
Henri and the Machine illustrated by Olga Shtonda
Written by Isabelle Marinov, editor Sophie Hallam, designer Anna Ring (Templar)
Farah Loves Mangoes illustrated by Sarthak Sinha
Editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art director Lilly Gottwald (Flying Eye Books)
Bright Stars of Black British History illustrated by Angela Vives
Written by J.T. Williams, editor Anna Ridley, designer Kate Haynes (Thames and Hudson)
The Fossil Hunter illustrated by Kate Winter
Editors Anna Barnes-Robinson, Louise Rickwood and Lara Hancock, designer Monica Whelan (Puffin)
Animal Crackers illustrated by Ruby Wright
Editor Libby Hamilton, designer Ness Wood (Rocket Bird Books)

Previous Klaus Flugge Prize winners include Francesca Sanna in 2017 for The Journey, Kate Milner for My Name is Not Refugee in 2018, Jessica Love in 2019 for Julian is a Mermaid, Eva Eland for When Sadness Comes to Call in 2020, Flavia Z Drago in 2021 with Gustavo the Shy Ghost and Joseph Namara Hollis in 2022 for Pierre's New Hair.

The 2023 Klaus Flugge Prize was awarded to Mariajo Ilustrajo for Flooded. Mariajo returns this year as a judge alongside award-winning illustrator Petr Horáček, Olivia Ahmad, Artistic Director at the Quentin Blake Centre for Illustration; and Alex Forbes, founder of independent bookshop Fourbears Books. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, director of the children's programme of the Hay Festival.

Julia Eccleshare said, "This Klaus Flugge Prize longlist is typically diverse in themes, approaches and subjects, a demonstration of the multitude of stories, true and imagined, that picture books can tell. The illustrators share an understanding of how to communicate ideas, emotions and narrative through illustration. We're delighted to be celebrating these accomplished and original picture books and such talented debut illustrators. Our thanks as always to Klaus Flugge for his generous sponsorship and continuous support for new picture book talent."