Dragon Storm: Tomas and Ironskin

Dragon Storm: Tomas and Ironskin

By Author / Illustrator

Alastair Chisholm, Eric Deschamps, Ben Mantle

Genre

Fantasy

Age range(s)

7+

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

ISBN

9781839940026

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

13-01-2022

Synopsis

The first book in a thrilling, magical, and action-packed new fantasy series, illustrated throughout and perfect for 7 - 9 year olds!


In the land of Draconis, there are no dragons.  Once, there were. Once, humans and dragons were friends, and created the great city of Rivven together.  But then came the Dragon Storm, and the dragons retreated from the world of humans.  To the men and women of Draconis, they became legends and myth.  Tomas has always been told that now, dragons are extinct, and so he can't believe it when a mysterious stranger invites him to join a secret society, the Dragonseer Guild - and tells him that not only do dragons still exist, but also that Tomas has a very special power... he can summon his very own dragon!But Tomas faces a difficult choice, and he and his dragon, Ironskin, must learn to trust each other - and together, they have to save their home from a deadly threat.


An exciting new fantasy series from the highly acclaimed author of Orion Lost, brilliantly illustrated throughout, and perfect for fans of Beast Quest and How to Train Your Dragon.


Video & Q&A with author Alastair Chisholm                    Book 2: Cara and Silverthief  

Reviews

Catherine

Tomas and Ironskin is the first book I have read in the Dragon Storm series and it was a great introduction to what lies ahead in the other books. It starts with the character Tomas who is summoned to go to a special school where he can learn to be a Dragonseer! Only chosen ones can attend this school. It has all the elements of characters you expect to find in a book about school – nasty teachers, kind teachers, good friends and other pupils who like to cause trouble.


This book is great for young readers who are just starting to become independent with their reading. The story is simple yet exciting, easy to understand and the bond between Tomas and his dragon Ironskin is something that children will enjoy. The illustrations are really eye-catching and detailed.


I think it would appeal to all children – especially if they like the films How to Train Your Dragon. I will be interested to read some of the other books in the set.


160 pages / Reviewed by Catherine Kus, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 7+

Elen

Can you imagine being able to summon a dragon from the ether into the real world? A small number of children in this medieval world are able to do just that and, once they have summoned their dragon, they form a unbreakable bond with it. So begins a regime of training and bonding at the special dragon school with its medieval setting.


In this story, the first in the Dragon Storm series, we find out about Tomas and his dragon, Ironskin, and we learn how they came to be together. We also learn a little about the challenges they will face - not everyone seems to want to see the children and dragons succeed in working together, and we also need to work out who has set fire to the small village - and Tomas's home - nearby.


The idea of being able to summon your own dragon is an appealing one, and this story of dragon riding, dragon school and the challenges they bring is a good one. Rather than the knights of old that used to fight dragons, these children are looking after dragons and nurturing the relationship they have with them.


The story is aimed at readers aged 7+ and makes for a great class read. Once you've finished finding out about the dragons, children can think about the kind of dragon they might have if they were able to summon their own - a lovely creative writing activity, or simply a class discussion.


160 pages / Reviewed by Elen Green

Suggested Reading Age 7+

 

Other titles