Pizazz vs the New Kid: The super awesome new superhero series!

Pizazz vs the New Kid: The super awesome new superhero series!

By Author / Illustrator

Sophy Henn

Genre

Supernatural

Age range(s)

5+

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

ISBN

9781471194153

Format

Paperback / softback

Published

07-01-2021

Synopsis

The super (like, actually, with powers and stuff) series from the amazingly talented Sophy Henn, award-winning author and illustrator of Bad Nana! The perfect read for children aged 7, 8, 9 and upwards, and for fans of Dork Diaries, Tom Gates, Amelia Fang, Wimpy Kid and Dog Man.

\"A SPECTACULAR superhero story that fizzes with fun on every page!\" - Liz Pichon, bestselling author of the TOM GATES series.


BEING A SUPERHERO IS THE BEST THING EVER, RIGHT? WRONG!

HELLO! My name is PIZAZZ and I'm a superhero . . . You probably think that's really AWESOME, and while it can be, it's also REEEEEEEAAALLLLY annoying.

I guess it was sort of going OK (I say, \"sort of\" - I still have to wear a silly cape and save the world all the time) until this NEW KID showed up, and started WOWING everyone with their super powers. Yep, SUPER POWERS - just what this town needs, another super . . . Who just happens to have the coolest name ever: Jett.

And now, because of Serena and her gang of Populars, I have to compete against Jett in an almighty and ultimate SUPER-OFF.

But it's fine. I mean, even if I lose, there's space for two SUPERS in this school, isn't there?!

Hilariously narrated by reluctant superhero Pizazz, and brimming with Sophy's distinctive illustrations and comic-book strips.

PRAISE for PIZAZZ:
\"Blocky comic-style panels, a fire-farting granddad and a conservationist message make for accessible, quirky reading\" - Guardian, Children's Book of the Month
\"Sophy Henn's funny new series [...] a witty and original reminder that superheroes are human too\" - Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week
\"Full-page illustrations, comic-strip sequences, quirky typography and dramatic chapter openers ensure this book will appeal to more reluctant readers\" - The i
\"Sophy Henn's lively, energetic story should be a hit with anyone who finds it hard to fit in\" - Financial Times
\"Perfect for fans of her previous series Bad Nana, with the same level of illustration and zany text throughout\" - Booktrust

Reviews

Hayley

The amazing new sequel - Pizazz vs The New Kid by Sophy Henn - is a witty reminder that superheroes are human too. This humorous story mixes the reality of being a superhero with the stresses of everyday life.

Pizazz is back, she is still super funny and her character is still full of wit and sarcasm. The story starts with Pizazz updating us with what her life has been like and how she has discovered that a new 'Super' will be joining the school, and not just the school but her class - hence the beginning of her nightmare. It is not until Jett (the new Super) snubs Pizazz's offer of friendship and accepts that of The Populars that things start to take a turn for the worst.

In between saving the world and living her normal life, Pizazz is drawn into a brutal battle of super powers to prove she is the best Super in school. Serena from The Populars has put herself in charge, which can only mean disaster for Pizazz. The battle of the Supers begins to test her true friendship as Pizazz becomes consumed by the thought of winning and being popular; she is drawn into forgetting the most important beliefs held by Supers.

This book is funny, fast, and full of little reminders about friendship, life, and our ability to be human and make mistakes. I love the character of Pizazz and how she has to constantly save the world when all she wants to do is paint her nails.

The black and white artwork gives this book the feel of a comic, but also a story. The artwork is brilliant because it enhances the story and brings the characters to life.

I would recommend this book to Key Stage 2 as a fantastic class story; it would also be a brilliant resource for teaching comic/narratives with a supernatural/ fantasy genre. There are many themes that could be developed from this book that could be linked to the curriculum throughout upper and lower Key Stage 2.

208 pages / Age 7+ / Reviewed by Hayley Summerfield, teacher

Suggested Reading Age 7+