Shortlists announced for the 2024 Jhalak Prize

Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2024
Category: Book Awards

Shortlists announced for the 2024 Jhalak Prize

The shortlists for the Jhalak Children's and YA Prize have been announced.  The Jhalak Prize and the Jhalak Children's & YA Prize, celebrate books by writers of colour in Britain and Ireland.

The award covers a range of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, short stories, graphic novels and poetry, and winners are awarded £1,000 by The Jhalak Prize.  The prizes are also open to self-published writers.

The winners will be announced on 30th May.  The judges for this year's competition includes author and screenwriter Danielle Jawando (And the Stars Were Burning Brightly);  YA author JP Rose (The Haunting Of Tyrese Walker); and children's author Rashmi Sirdeshpande (Dadaji's Paintbrush). 

The 2024 shortlist includes: (listed according to age range)

Geoffrey Gets The Jitters, Nadia Shireen (PRH Children's)
To the Other Side, Erika Meza (Hachette Children's)
Safiyyah's War, Hiba Noor Khan (Andersen Press)
Steady for This, Nathaneal Lessore (Hot Key Books)
Wild Song, Candy Gourlay (David Fickling Books)
How to Die Famous  Benjamin Dean (Simon & Schuster)

Find out more about the Jhalak Prize.