Family Newsletters
sponsord by
Amazing baby
« Back

Book news

A taste of what's happening around the country.

Costa 2021 children's winner

4th Jan 21

Natasha Farrant has won the Costa Children's Book Award with her 12th book, Voyage of the Sparrowhawk, which the judges called 'pure heavenly escapism'. All the Costa category winners were announced this evening.

Costa Category Winners:

Award-winning short story writer Ingrid Persaud scooped the Costa First Novel Award for her 'outstanding' debut novel set in Trinidad, Love After Love.

Writer and memoirist Monique Roffey won the Costa Novel Award category, winning her first major UK literary prize for her seventh book, The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story.

Lee Lawrence, debut writer and son of Brixton gun victim Cherry Groce, won the Costa Biography Award for his 'revelatory' memoir, The Louder I Will Sing: A story of racism, riots and redemption.

The late Eavan Boland posthumously won the Costa Poetry Award with her final collection, The Historians, described by the judges as having 'some of the finest lines of poetry written this century'.

Writer and literary scout Natasha Farrant won the Costa Children's Book Award with her 12th book, Voyage of the Sparrowhawk, which the judges called 'pure heavenly escapism'.

The Costa Book Awards is the only major UK book prize open solely to authors resident in the UK and Ireland and which recognises some of the most enjoyable books across five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - published in the last year.

The overall winner will be selected by a panel of judges chaired by historian, author and broadcaster Professor Suzannah Lipscomb and comprising category judges Jill Dawson, Sadie Jones, Horatio Clare, Zaffar Kunial and Patrice Lawrence, joined by actor and writer Stephen Mangan, television and radio presenter Angellica Bell and presenter and book vlogger Simon Savidge, and will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony hosted by presenter and broadcaster Penny Smith on Tuesday 26th January 2021.

Since the introduction of the Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won twelve times by a novel, five times by a first novel, eight times by a biography, eight times by a collection of poetry and twice by a children's book.

The winner of the Costa Short Story Award, now in its ninth year, is voted for by the general public and will also be announced at the awards ceremony. Voting is open until Friday 8th January, until which time the identity of the three shortlisted authors remains anonymous.

For more information, go to:

Add your comments:

Please complete this Captcha to submit your comment.

Reading Zone logo Family Zone menu Young Adult ChildrensZone SchoolZone Library zone
Which Food Will You Choose
ReadingZone Book Shop

Book of the week

Meet the Author

ONE LITTLE BIRD, a gorgeous picture book by SHERYL WEBSTER and illustrator HELEN SHOESMITH, provides a valuable lesson on working together to solve a problem and a wonderful environmental reminder of our role in looking after the planet.

Read more