Family Newsletters
sponsord by
Amazing baby
« Back

Your book reviews


Send in your own review


Turtle Boy

Turtle Boy

M. Evan Wolkenstein
Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474981385


Turtle Boy is a must read for fans of Goldfish Boy and Wonder. It follows 12 year old Will Levine as his Bar Mitzvah approaches. As part of his community service project, he meets RJ who is very ill in hospital.



Will Levine's life has been hard; he is picked on at school because of a facial disfigurement (giving him the nick-name Turtle Boy); his dad died during a routine hospital operation when Will was only four years old and his mum struggles to cope so finds it difficult to talk to Will about him. Will's only escape is the wild area of ground next to his school, and his wild turtles that he collected from here.



His relationship with RJ gets off to a rocky start but ends up giving Will the confidence to challenge who he is. The strength of friendship is a powerful tool to enable Will to overcome many obstacles in his life.



Wolkenstein's debut novel touches every emotion and brings out such compassion. A book with a message for everyone - Life's too short to live in a shell.



400 pages / Ages 10+ / Reviewed by Donna Ritchie, teacher.


more

Reading Zone logo Family Zone menu Young Adult ChildrensZone SchoolZone Library zone

 
ReadingZone Book Shop



Book of the week

Max and the Millions

Ross Montgomery

Max and the Millions

~ Babies & Toddlers
~ Pre School
~ Early Readers
~ Confident Readers
~ Young Adult

Meet the Author


THE BOOKWORM by DEBBIE GLIORI is a gorgeous treat of a story about a boy, Max, and his search for the perfect pet. When Max finds a baby worm that seems to be 'just right', little does he know what the worm will grow up into...

Read more